Sarah Tandy’s confirmed two incredible sextet line-ups for her New Music Biennial performances

We’ve been waiting to unveil the line-ups for Sarah Tandy’s sextet performances at the two New Music Biennial weekends in July. With two sextets featuring some of the UK’s most exciting young jazz artists, we hope you’ll agree it was worth the wait.

At both shows, rising star pianist Tandy will be joined by Jordan Hadfield on drums and Rio Kai (Nérija) on bass.

At London’s Southbank Centre on Saturday 6th July, they’ll be joined by Rosie Turton (Nérija) on trombone, James Mollison (Ezra Collective) on tenor sax and Ife Ogonjobi (Moses Boyd Exodus) on trumpet.

At Früit in Hull on Saturday 13th July, they’ll be joined by Joe Bristow (Jason Moran’s Harlem Hellfighters) on trombone, Xhosa Cole (BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year 2018) on tenor sax and Mark Kavuma on trumpet.

They’ll be performing Sarah’s new piece The Dream Without a Name, commissioned by J-Night for the New Music Biennial 2019. Inspired by the work of Harlem Renaissance poet Langston Hughes, it explores his ideas about music, love and city life in the musical context of the current UK scene.

On Saturday 6th July, you can see the performance for free at 7pm in the foyer of the Queen Elizabeth Hall at the Southbank Centre. The show will feature a Q&A with Sarah Tandy, followed by a second live performance of the new piece.

The show at Früit on Saturday 13th July is now sold out. If you’ve missed out on tickets, keep an eye on our Twitter feed for links to the Radio 3 broadcast of the London performance.

You can find full details of the New Music Biennial festival weekends in London and Hull on the Southbank Centre website and the Absolutely Cultured website.