Parliamentary Jazz Awards wins for Hull Jazz Festival Artists

Artists who’ve performed at Hull Jazz Festival over the last 2 years featured heavily in the winners list for this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards.

Denys Baptiste

Denys Baptiste

Shirley Tetteh, who performed last year with Arun Ghosh Quintet and Nérijah, won Best Newcomer. Arun Ghosh got the gong for Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year. Denys Baptiste’s album The Late Trane – one of July’s festival highlights – won Jazz Album of the Year. Saxophonist Jean Toussaint, whose November show with his Allstar 5tet is now sold out, won the Jazz Education Award and our friend Gary Crosby OBE won the Special Award for his incredible contribution to the UK jazz scene.

Congratulations from all of us here!